My favorite smoothie recipes

2015-01-30_1422606585

I have been drinking green smoothies since september of last year. And I have been experimenting with recipes. Today I would like to share some of my favorite recipes and I hope you will feel inspired to start drinking them.

The basics

Before you start drinking green smoothies I strictly recommend that you read my other blogpost about Green smoothies.

In every smoothie I use the same superfoods. This can be different for everybody depending on you taste or your needs.

My superfoods* are
-1 tlsp pumpkinseed (contains tryptophan which helps your body in making the happy hormone serotonin)
-1 tlsp sunflowerseed (contains tryptophan which helps your body in making the happy hormone serotonin)
-1/2 tlsp wheatgrass (contains 50% of vitamins and minerals compared to 1 kg of vegetables)
-1 tlsp linseed (rich of omega 3 and stimulates your bowel movement)

And I always use a banana in all of my smoothies. If that is a problem for you, you can replace it with an avocado. Both fruits make your smoothie more creamy and more delicious. And they are both very healthy.

In all of my smoothies I put the juice of one lemon. It makes the smoothie taste fresh, it contains a lot of vitamin C and it helps to make your smoothie more tenable. If you want to make your smoothie a day in advance, like the night before, I strictly advice you to add lemonjuice and store it in your refrigerator.

I always drink half a liter/500 ml. If you find the smoothie too thick, you can always add water. And I use a blender to create my smoothies. Please check if your blender is able to blend frozen fruits.

My favorite recipes

YOGHURT AND DATES SMOOTHIE

2014-11-07_1415348393

  • 400 ml of organic yoghurt
  • 4 big dates (cut in small chunks)
  • 1 banana (cut in four)
  • Juice of one lemon (optional)
  • 2 tbls of oats
  • add your superfoods* (This one is without wheatgrass)

STRAWBERRY AND SPINACH SMOOTHIE (Doesn’t look so good, but the taste is great! Don’t worry!)

2015-01-28_1422433974

Strawberry

2015-02-01_1422782624

Pineapple

  • 125 gr frozen strawberries (you can also replace the strawberries with frozen pineapple)
  • 100 gr spinach
  • 1 banana (cut in four)
  • juice of one lemon
  • add your superfoods*

CELLERY AND PINEAPPLE SMOOTHIE
2015-01-01_1420109493

  • 3 stems of cellery
  • 125 gr of frozen pineapple (you can also replace the pineapple with frozen strawberries)
  • juice of two oranges
  • juice of one lemon
  • 1 banana (cut in four)
  • add your superfoods*

I always start with blending my banana and my frozen fruit with a little bit of water. Then I add the greens. And when it’s starting to look like a smoothie I add the superfoods. Again please check if your blender is able to blend frozen fruits. Otherwise your blender will die! Trust me. I know. LOL. It’r also really important that you blend untill the veggies (especially the leavy vegetables) are completely blended in. If not, you will have to chew the leaves and that doesn’t taste too well . And trust me.. you don’t want that in the morning. I always drink my smoothies with a straw. It’s just taste better.

Well I hope you feel inspired to start drinking green smoothies. It’s a really delicious and healthy start of your day and I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Please tag me on Instagram if you made one of my recipes and let me know what you think.

Love,

Nadya

Leave a Reply

